Moon-Lover

Sleepy eyed moon-lover

Head tilted back

The black sky engulfs my senses

And the star shower never falls.

 

As I lower my gaze

Slowly rebalancing

It hits me in the chest

There she rests.

 

Low on the horizon

A pale yellow marble

Vast and mysterious

Silent and still.

 

Pregnant with reflected sun-fire

Full and ready

Piercing my pretenses

My throat catches.

 

How to describe the emotions

The why, the how

Mouth agape

I feel small.

 

I am enveloped

In her moon-mist

Always out of reach

But always there.

 

Stumbling on I can’t break away

My spell-bound gaze

Mesmerised, sleepy eyed

Moon-lover.

 

Full moon via Ava Verino on Earthsky.org
Leave a Reply

